Tintin

I was reading about one of my favorite travel writers, Nick Danziger, when I found out that he was inspired by Tintin, the Belgian comic-strip character. Wasn’t a total surprise though. My dad introduced me to Tintin when I was about 6 years old and I just loved reading those books. Tintin and his dog, Snowy, went to all these mysterious places around the globe…volcanic islands in Indonesia, the forests of Central America, the Himalayas, the desert sands of the Sahara, a hybrid of Indiana Jones and James Bond! I ended up buying all the available books within a year when I lived in Calcutta, India and then had to go all around the world to collect the last few. Tracked down “Tintin in the Land of the Soviets” in The Tintin Shop in Covent Garden, London, the unfinished “Tintin and Alph-Art” from the Tintin Museum in Brussels and finally the Spanish edition of “Tintin in Congo” from amazon.com after waiting quite a few months after having placed the order.

The movie based on the book “The Secret of the Unicorn” directed by Steven Spielberg is out but sadly not in the US yet. I watched the trailer on youtube and will have to wait another month before I can see it in the theaters.

Also found out today that Alph-Art was completed by the Canadian author, Yves Rodier, and it’s available online. Read it here.

About 14travel

Surfing the world at his own pace...
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

